Updates and Driving

It has been awhile since my last post.  Sorry!!! I’ll be doing some updates over the next couple of days and then try to post more regularly.

Today’s update is driving:

I am fully certified to drive the minibuses at this point.  I passed my driver’s safety test and have been learning a good number of bus runs.  The only bummer is that I only drive a minibus and live in a city.  If you have ever lived in a city you understand how horrendous parallel parking and small lanes can be.  Now imagine that you have twice as many blind spots and can barely see anything on your left side.  It’s ruff.

That said, I still have parking trouble and trouble getting one of the busses up the last curved incline of the mountain.  In fact, one of the busses is currently parked on that incline because it thought that it would be fun to stop running and roll backwards in first.  With no street lights and so many blind spots, I’ve had to park it there over night.  Hopefully Phil will be able to get it up the mountain tomorrow…

There are good things about driving, though.  Each time I do a bus run I learn a bit more about the layout of belfast and it is SUPER helpful with grocery shopping…haha.  Also, driving to pick up families is a tremendous help to a lot of the mothers and kids that come to Quakers.  It’s hard enough pushing down pride and asking for help, let alone worrying about finding a ride up a mountain.  I think that it is fantastic that Quakers gives this service to its families.

Thus, driving definitely has its pros and cons and my biggest cons have nothing to do with driving on the left side of the road.  However, the pros of driving definitely outweigh the cons.  Knowing my surroundings and helping out our families is a pleasure.  I’ve just got to get a hang of the last curve up the mountain 🙂

Leave a comment